Auctions and Brokerage
*Please note that the engine installed in this car, number L172, is the correct type, but not the original engine as stated in the catalogue.
Before Jaguar was called Jaguar, the company went by the name SS – Swallow Sidecar & Coachbuilding Company – originally producing motorcycle sidecars and automobile bodies. Founded in Blackpool, England, by William Lyons and William Walmsley, the company entered full automobile production in 1926.
Offered from single family ownership since the 1970s, this 2 1/2 Litre Drophead Coupe was the subject of a comprehensive, two-year restoration by marque specialist Jeff’s Resurrections, completed in 2001. Restored in its original livery of Gunmetal Grey over black leather upholstery, this exquisite SS retains its matching-numbers engine, according to an accompanying letter from Jaguar Cars dated February 1974. Since restoration, the Drophead Coupe has been displayed at the 2002 Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance® and the 2008 Amelia Island Concours d’Elegance, while at numerous Jaguar Clubs of North America events, it has never failed to take first place in its class. The car’s most recent outing was the October 2012 Jaguar Club of Austin Concours, where the SS received 99.98 points from JCNA judges, a testament to the enduring quality of its restoration.
Only 273 2 1/2 Litre Drophead Coupes had been made when WWII halted production; today, survivors are rare and sought-after. This stylish, capable example remains in superb condition, and has recently undergone detailing by its original restorer. Offered here is a rare opportunity to acquire a classic British sporting steed and one of the most exclusive SS Jaguar motorcars.